Skip to content

Please Mr. Wizard, Can I Have A Brain?

February 9, 2010

In grade six, I was in The Wizard of Oz. I played Tornado #2 and Emerald City member #12.  Oh, the glory days.

Almost twelve years later, I’ve been cast as Scarecrow. (I’m not talking about The Wizard of Oz anymore.) I’ll be performing in Woman and Scarecrow by Marina Carr at the end of April. According to WikiAnswers, Scarecrow is either an extension of Woman’s “soul” or some manifestation of a guardian angel.

Which costume do you think is most appropriate?

Yeah, neither. I just think it is funny that people buy costumes like these.

I kind of envision the character wearing a negligee, smoking with a cigarette holder, and downing endless glasses of ginger ale from champagne glasses (like they did in Woody Allen’s The Purple Rose of Cairo). I don’t really think I’ll get to do this, unfortunately.  And only time will tell if “doing the acting thing” was a straw-brained decision.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

